When a business card connected to Melio is used, cardholders will be notified so they can submit a receipt for that purchase. To add a receipt to your Melio Expense Management Tab, all the cardholder will need is the link sent to them by text message or email. Melio account or login not required!
This guide explains to cardholders what messages they will receive for adding receipts to Expense Management and how to do so. It contains the following sections:
- How you're notified about receipts
- How to upload your receipt
- What happens after you submit your receipt
How you're notified about receipts
The way a cardholder is notified depends on the contact information your admin or business owner entered when you were set up to receive messages. When you are added as a cardholder, your admin/owner is required to add in a method of contact for you which will need to be your Phone number, Email address, or Both.
You will need to opt-in for text messages to receive receipt notifications this way. This is not required for emails.
If a phone number was included for you, the first Expense Management text message you receive will be a welcome text with an opt-in link. You must confirm consent before any further text messages, including receipt reminders, can be sent to you.
Note: You can opt out of receipt notification text messages and emails at any time using the link provided in your messages. However, if you opt out, you can't opt back into these messages yourself. Your admin or team owner will need to remove and re-add you so a new opt-in request can be sent.
Once you're set up to receive messages, each time the connected card is used, you'll get a notification letting you know a receipt is needed for that transaction.
How to upload your receipt
1- Open the text message or email notifying you of the transaction.
2- Select the link included in the message. This takes you to a secure page, no Melio account or login needed.
3- Photograph or upload an image of your receipt.
4- Optionally, add a memo with any additional notes about the purchase.
5- Select Submit.
Your link is valid for 14 days from when it's sent. If you haven't uploaded a receipt yet, your admin/owner can send you a reminder once every 24 hours, up to two reminders total.
What happens after you submit your receipt
Once you select Submit, your receipt is saved and linked to the transaction. From here, the admin or account owner will review and take action on the receipt on their end. You won't need to take any further action unless you’re notified of any issues with the receipt.
Note: Cardholders won’t be able to edit or modify receipts after they have been submitted. Only an owner or admin can make edits to the receipt before it is synced. For more information on who can manage receipts, please review this guide.
That's it! You now know how you’ll be contacted about submitting receipts and how to forward them to your team for review in Expense Management.